Physician Scientist Residency Award

Important information regarding the AUA/Urology Care Foundation’s new Physician Scientist Residency Training Award!

     The Physician Scientist Residency Training Award (PSRTA) is open to fourth year medical students and recent medical school graduates. The award supports three years of intensive research training embedded within urology residency and is intended to develop urologic surgeon-scientists who can effectively engage with basic scientists, successfully compete for independent research funding and ultimately lead robust research programs. The PSRTA resident will complete an eight-year training program in urology beginning July 2019. The trainee will complete the first two years of clinical training and then matriculate into the three-year research training program. The final three years of clinical training will conclude the PSRTA training program. This new program was approved by the ABU in August 2017.

     The following institutions were selected as eligible Program Sites through an application and peer review process conducted by the AUA Office of Research this past October, and each institution received ACGME RRC approval in March: University of California, Los Angeles; University of Michigan; University of Washington; and Wake Forest University.

     Importantly, candidates for this program must register for the Society of Academic Urologists (SAU)/American Urological Association’s (AUA) Residency Match Program. Applications must be submitted through the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS), as well as additional materials submitted directly to the AUA. Selection and notification of the PSRTA recipient will be completed no later than October 31, 2018 so that applicants not selected for the Physician Scientist Residency Training Award will remain eligible for the regular urology residency match.